What is collateral mobility, and why did Ripple invest in ZILO and Licuido?
Also asked as: “Why did Ripple invest in ZILO and Licuido?” · “What is the difference between tokenization and collateral mobility?”
Company-reported Published 4 min read
Short answer
Collateral mobility means a tokenized asset can be used as collateral to borrow, lend or post margin, not only held on a ledger. Ripple said on August 3, 2026 that it invested in ZILO and Licuido to bring regulated transfer agency, issuance and collateral mobility to its XRP Ledger infrastructure, without stating the amounts.
The full answer
What does collateral mobility mean?
Collateral is an asset pledged to secure a loan or a trade. In a repo transaction, securities are used as collateral against a cash loan, as CaptainAltcoin explained on September 10, 2026 [3].
Ripple’s August 3, 2026 release frames collateral mobility through the problems it aims to remove. Ripple said issuers, investors and liquidity providers face the same constraints: collateral that sits idle instead of being put to work, settlement that takes longer than it should, and no easy way to unlock liquidity and mobilize collateral securely, confidentially and compliantly [1].
Timing is part of the problem. Ripple Prime CEO Mike Higgins, quoted by Benzinga on June 24, 2026, said that if a firm cannot move collateral, it cannot really trade or risk-manage on the weekend [2]. He said stablecoins let institutions meet margin calls outside banking hours, which can lower margin requirements for trading firms [2].
How is it different from tokenization?
Tokenization puts an asset on a ledger. Collateral mobility is what lets that token secure something else. Nigel Khakoo, SVP of Trading and Markets at Ripple, said in the August 3, 2026 release that tokenization is only the starting point, and that the value lies in buying, selling and settling the token, or using it as collateral to borrow, lend or post margin [1].
Ripple said that on its infrastructure, tokenized funds can be used as collateral from the point of issuance, and trades settle atomically on the XRPL [1]. This is Ripple’s description of its own design. Whether tokenized funds and Treasuries are already being turned into cash or credit in practice is the subject of Can tokenized Treasuries and funds be turned into cash or credit?.
Who are ZILO and Licuido, and what licences do they hold?
Ripple described ZILO as a specialist in global transfer agency technology for asset managers and wealth, and Licuido as a tokenization solution and trading platform for digital ownership and asset liquidity [1].
According to Ripple, ZILO’s transfer agency and fund administration technology gives asset managers, custodians and transfer agents digital record-keeping that supports tokenized share classes as funds move onchain [1]. Ripple said this gives institutions the regulated record they need to run lending and collateral markets [1].
Ripple’s release calls the capabilities “regulated” [1]. I could not find any passage of the release naming a licence, regulator or jurisdiction for either company, nor any other source doing so, as of October 1, 2026.
Why did Ripple invest in them?
Ripple gave its reasons in the same release. It said the two deals bring regulated transfer agency, issuance and collateral mobility to its infrastructure on the XRP Ledger [1]. It said ZILO and Licuido provide capabilities that are essential to further scaling the move of funds onchain: regulated digital transfer agency infrastructure, and liquidity for issuance and collateral mobility [1].
Ripple said the investments build on existing partnerships between the companies [1]. The release quotes a statement that “our partnerships with Aviva Investors, Franklin Templeton and DBS demonstrate how asset managers are focused on deploying tokenized fund structures at scale” [1]. Those partnerships have their own pages: What is Aviva Investors doing on the XRP Ledger? and What are DBS and Franklin Templeton doing with RLUSD?.
The amounts of the investments were not disclosed in Ripple’s release [1].
Has any collateral actually moved through Licuido’s marketplace, and how much?
As of October 1, 2026, I could not find any figure for collateral moved through Licuido’s platform or through Ripple’s XRPL collateral infrastructure. Ripple’s release describes its infrastructure as “designed to solve” the collateral problems it lists [1]. That is a statement of design and intent, not a reported volume.
For reference volumes from other tokenized repo and collateral networks, see How big is tokenized repo and collateral movement on other platforms, and where does the XRP Ledger stand?.
Does collateral mobility involve XRP?
Ripple’s release names RLUSD, its dollar stablecoin, as the regulated cash leg for delivery-versus-payment transactions on this infrastructure [1]. The release gives XRP no stated role.
A crypto.news analysis published on July 8, 2026, before these deals, found that inside Ripple’s own product stack the asset doing the settlement work is predominantly RLUSD, not XRP [4]. CaptainAltcoin wrote on September 10, 2026 that “connected to Ripple” does not mean “uses XRP” [3]. The wider question is covered in Does tokenization on the XRP Ledger create any demand for XRP?.
What is the strongest critique of these deals?
The strongest critique concerns who benefits. crypto.news argued on July 8, 2026 that Ripple built RLUSD to capture the settlement flow that XRP’s volatility rules out, and that every institutional win running through RLUSD is a win for Ripple and the ledger, and only residually for the token [4]. The same analysis called Ripple’s product network self-referential and said the market has learned to discount announcements in which Ripple is both counterparties [4]. These deals fit that pattern: Ripple is investing in firms that build on Ripple’s own infrastructure.
crypto.news also reported the opposing view. Supporters argue that RLUSD adoption seeds the ledger with the institutional liquidity that XRP-based collateral and bridging would later plug into. crypto.news called that answer coherent, and a claim about sequencing whose first half is observable and whose second half is not yet [4].
What we know
- August 3, 2026: Ripple announced strategic investments in ZILO, a transfer agency technology firm for asset managers and wealth, and Licuido, a tokenization and trading platform (Ripple press release, company-reported).
- August 3, 2026: Ripple said the two deals bring regulated transfer agency, issuance and collateral mobility to its infrastructure on the XRP Ledger, and that the investments build on existing partnerships between the companies (Ripple press release).
- August 3, 2026: Ripple said that on its infrastructure tokenized funds can be used as collateral from the point of issuance, trades settle atomically on the XRPL, and its stablecoin RLUSD is the regulated cash leg for delivery-versus-payment transactions (Ripple press release).
- August 3, 2026: The amounts of the two investments were not disclosed in Ripple’s release.
- June 24, 2026: Benzinga reported Ripple Prime CEO Mike Higgins saying RLUSD is becoming part of the firm’s settlement and collateral strategy, and that without the ability to move collateral a firm cannot trade or risk-manage on the weekend.
- July 8, 2026: A crypto.news analysis, written before these deals, found that inside Ripple’s own product stack the asset doing the settlement work is predominantly RLUSD, not XRP.
What we reason Analysis
- The investments give Ripple financial ties to two firms whose stated role is to make tokenized fund shares usable as collateral on Ripple’s XRPL infrastructure. This follows from Ripple’s August 3, 2026 release.
- In the design Ripple describes, the cash side of a collateral trade runs in RLUSD. Ripple’s release, in the passages quoted publicly, gives XRP no stated role, so any effect on XRP would be indirect, through activity on the ledger. This follows from the crypto.news finding on RLUSD as Ripple’s main settlement asset.
- Tokenization and collateral mobility are separate steps: the first puts an asset on a ledger, the second lets it secure a loan, margin or trade. This follows from Nigel Khakoo’s statement in Ripple’s release and the repo definition reported by CaptainAltcoin.
What's still open
- As of October 1, 2026, no public source gives a figure for collateral moved through Licuido’s platform or through Ripple’s XRPL collateral infrastructure.
- As of October 1, 2026, the specific licences, regulators and jurisdictions of ZILO and Licuido have not been made public in the sources reviewed. Ripple’s release calls the capabilities regulated without naming a licence.
- As of October 1, 2026, the size of Ripple’s investments and of any stakes it holds in ZILO or Licuido were not stated in Ripple’s release or in other sources held by the project.
In plain English
Collateral is something valuable you pledge so someone will lend to you or trade with you. Putting an asset such as a fund share on a blockchain is one step; being able to pledge that digital share as collateral is the next step, and that is what collateral mobility means. In August 2026 Ripple put money into two companies, ZILO and Licuido, that work on record-keeping and trading for digital fund shares, and said this helps make such shares usable as collateral on the XRP Ledger. Ripple did not say how much it invested, and as of October 2, 2026 I could not find any figure for how much collateral has actually moved. In Ripple’s description, the cash side of these deals uses its dollar stablecoin RLUSD, not XRP.
Key terms
Sources
- Ripple Strengthens Digital Capital Markets Infrastructure with Investments in ZILO and Licuido — Ripple, Mon Aug 03 2026 00:00:00 GMT+0000 (Coordinated Universal Time) Company-reported
- Ripple Prime's Revenue Tripled Since Hidden Road Acquisition And RLUSD Is The 'Settlement And Collateral Asset' — Benzinga, Wed Jun 24 2026 00:00:00 GMT+0000 (Coordinated Universal Time) Secondary
- XRP rumor check: what's actually true about Ripple, Clarity, Swift and Schwab — CaptainAltcoin, Thu Sep 10 2026 00:00:00 GMT+0000 (Coordinated Universal Time) Secondary
- Ripple Prime cleared $3 trillion: how much of it actually touches XRP? — crypto.news, Wed Jul 08 2026 00:00:00 GMT+0000 (Coordinated Universal Time) Secondary
- Press Center - Press Releases & Statements — Ripple, read 2026-10-02 Company-reported
Update log
- — Published.
I keep this site free, with no ads, paywall or affiliate links; gifts cover hosting and research time. Support the project, or report an error.
