What is cross-margining, and can institutions cross-margin XRP through Ripple Prime?
Also asked as: “What is cross-margining, and does Ripple Prime offer it?” · “Can U.S. institutions trade and cross-margin XRP through Ripple Prime?” · “What is Ripple Prime's Hyperliquid integration?” · “What is Ripple Prime's Delta One business?” · “Why does cross-margining matter for XRP?” · “Can XRP be cross-margined?” · “When did Ripple Prime launch in the United States?” · “Can U.S. clients cross-margin XRP spot against CME products?” · “Is XRP OTC execution available?”
Company-reported Published 5 min read
Short answer
Yes, according to Ripple. On November 3, 2025 Ripple said Ripple Prime’s U.S. institutional clients can trade XRP over the counter and cross-margin those holdings with the rest of their digital asset portfolio, including OTC swaps and CME futures and options. Ripple calls this consolidated margin across a portfolio. That release gives no XRP haircut or margin saving.
The full answer
What is cross-margining?
Ripple’s February 4, 2026 release describes what Ripple Prime clients get as “a single counterparty relationship, centralized risk management, and consolidated margin across their entire portfolio” [2]. That is Ripple’s own description of cross-margining at its prime broker.
In general terms, cross-margining means margin is set on a client’s combined book rather than on each position or venue alone. Positions that offset each other can be counted against each other, so less collateral sits idle at each venue. That general description is my own explanation. Ripple’s releases do not publish the calculation.
Cross-margining was part of Ripple’s pitch from the start. When Ripple announced the Hidden Road acquisition on April 8, 2025, it said the deal would make RLUSD, its stablecoin, the first stablecoin to enable cross-margining between digital assets and traditional markets [4].
Can U.S. institutions trade and cross-margin XRP through Ripple Prime?
Ripple announced on November 3, 2025 the launch of digital asset spot prime brokerage for the U.S. market [1]. The release says U.S.-based institutional clients can execute OTC spot transactions across dozens of digital assets including XRP and RLUSD [1]. It also says those clients can cross-margin OTC spot transactions and holdings with the rest of their digital asset portfolio, including OTC swaps and CME futures and options [1]. The same release says Hidden Road was acquired by Ripple in October 2025 and is now Ripple Prime [1].
Read together, those sentences place XRP spot holdings inside the cross-margin arrangement Ripple describes. The release does not name the CME contracts involved.
Ripple announced the Hidden Road deal at $1.25 billion on April 8, 2025, and said then that Hidden Road cleared $3 trillion a year for more than 300 institutional customers [4]. The firm’s current scale and funding are covered in What is Ripple Prime, and how big is it?, and XRP’s collateral status there in Does Ripple Prime accept XRP as collateral?.
Ripple Prime is one U.S. route among others. On November 3, 2025, Bitnomial announced that it had launched RLUSD stablecoin margin collateral and expanded its digital asset margin support to XRP [9]. Other venues are compared in Can XRP be used as margin for futures, options and perpetuals, and where?.
How much margin does cross-margining save in practice for a book that includes XRP?
No figure had been published as of September 30, 2026. Ripple’s November 3, 2025 release gives no XRP haircut, loan-to-value or financing term [1].
Ripple’s May 19, 2026 release on the EDX Markets integration says clients receive “enhanced capital efficiency” through Ripple Prime’s credit intermediation, net settlement and collateral management services [6]. Benzinga reported in June 2026 that Ripple Prime’s Higgins said stablecoins let institutions meet margin calls outside banking hours, and that he said this can lower margin requirements [8]. That remark was about stablecoins, not XRP.
The saving on any book that includes XRP depends on two things Ripple has not published: the haircut Ripple Prime applies to XRP, and how closely the client’s positions offset. A long XRP spot position paired with a short XRP hedge offsets more than XRP held alongside unrelated positions. How haircuts are set is covered in How much can you borrow against XRP, and who sets the haircut?, and the settlement side in How does net settlement reduce the capital needed to trade?.
What does the Hyperliquid extension add, and what risks come with an on-chain venue?
On February 4, 2026 Ripple said Ripple Prime had enabled support for Hyperliquid, which it described as a leading decentralized derivatives venue and a high-performance decentralized derivatives protocol [2]. Ripple said the integration lets institutional clients access onchain derivatives liquidity while cross-margining DeFi exposures with all other asset classes Ripple Prime supports, including digital assets, FX, fixed income, OTC swaps and cleared derivatives [2].
The release sets out benefits but no risks.
A client’s Hyperliquid exposure then depends on two things at once: the protocol operating as designed, and Ripple Prime’s risk management as the single counterparty. Neither Ripple nor any other public source quantifies those risks as of September 30, 2026.
What does the Delta One business add?
Ripple said on August 27, 2026 that Ripple Prime’s Delta One business is live and lets clients execute total return swaps across U.S.-listed equities, indices and digital assets [3]. Ripple said clients can cross-margin exposures across its asset classes 24/7 through a single counterparty relationship [3]. The integration with EDX Markets, which extends the same framework to spot and perpetual futures liquidity, is covered in What does the Ripple Prime and EDX Markets integration provide?.
Does pooling collateral concentrate risk at the prime broker?
Ripple presents the single counterparty relationship as a benefit in both its Hyperliquid and Delta One releases [2][3]. Ripple said on August 27, 2026 that Ripple Prime has over $1 billion in regulatory net capital, closed an upsized $275 million private placement of senior unsecured notes that month, and took a $200 million debt facility from funds managed by Neuberger Specialty Finance earlier in 2026 [3]. Ripple also said that, unlike incumbent Delta One desks that sit alongside market-making or proprietary trading businesses, Ripple Prime operates solely in the clearing and financing flow [3].
Pooling puts more of each client’s collateral and positions with one firm. An error in how that firm offsets positions, or stress elsewhere in its business, reaches every pooled position at once. The $1 billion regulatory net capital figure is Ripple’s own and is not an independent measure of client protection. No independent assessment of this concentration was publicly available as of September 30, 2026.
Is XRP central to Ripple Prime’s margin system?
The strongest evidence against that reading comes from reporting and from Ripple itself. crypto.news reported on September 2, 2026 that XRP appears exactly once in the Delta One press release, that the desk’s collateral documents lean on RLUSD, and that the desk “does not run on XRP” [7]. Benzinga reported on June 24, 2026 that Higgins described RLUSD as becoming part of Ripple Prime’s settlement and collateral strategy [8].
Ripple said on November 5, 2025 that RLUSD is already in use as collateral at Ripple Prime, and that Ripple Prime is now expanding into collateralized lending for XRP [5]. The first is described as in use; the second as an expansion under way. Ripple’s May 19, 2026 EDX release names RLUSD as the planned future settlement and collateral asset on EDX [6]. Benzinga reported that Ripple Prime plans to add more venues, collateral types and tokenized assets [8].
What happens to collateral when its price falls is the subject of What happens to an XRP-backed loan if XRP’s price drops?.
What we know
- November 3, 2025: Ripple announced digital asset spot prime brokerage for the U.S. market. Its release says U.S. institutional clients can execute OTC spot trades in dozens of digital assets including XRP and RLUSD, and can cross-margin OTC spot transactions and holdings with the rest of their digital asset portfolio, including OTC swaps and CME futures and options (Ripple).
- November 3, 2025: the same release says Ripple acquired Hidden Road in October 2025 and that it is now Ripple Prime, and it gives no XRP haircut, loan-to-value or financing term (Ripple; checked September 29, 2026).
- April 8, 2025: Ripple announced the $1.25 billion Hidden Road acquisition, said Hidden Road cleared $3 trillion a year for more than 300 institutional customers, and said the deal would make RLUSD the first stablecoin to enable cross-margining between digital assets and traditional markets (Ripple).
- November 5, 2025: Ripple said RLUSD is already in use as collateral at Ripple Prime and that Ripple Prime is now expanding into collateralized lending for XRP (Ripple).
- February 4, 2026: Ripple said Ripple Prime enabled support for Hyperliquid, letting institutional clients access onchain derivatives liquidity while cross-margining DeFi exposures with digital assets, FX, fixed income, OTC swaps and cleared derivatives, under a single counterparty relationship and consolidated margin (Ripple).
- May 19, 2026: Ripple said its EDX Markets integration gives clients capital efficiency through Ripple Prime’s credit intermediation, net settlement and collateral management, and lays the groundwork for RLUSD as a future settlement and collateral asset on EDX (Ripple).
- June 24, 2026: Benzinga reported Ripple Prime’s Mike Higgins saying RLUSD is becoming part of the firm’s settlement and collateral strategy, that stablecoins let institutions meet margin calls outside banking hours, which he said can lower margin requirements, and that Ripple Prime plans to add more venues and collateral types (Benzinga).
- August 27, 2026: Ripple said Ripple Prime’s Delta One business is live, offers total return swaps across U.S.-listed equities, indices and digital assets, lets clients cross-margin across asset classes 24/7, and that Ripple Prime has over $1 billion in regulatory net capital (Ripple).
- September 2, 2026: crypto.news reported that XRP appears once in the Delta One release, that the desk’s collateral documents lean on RLUSD, and that the desk does not run on XRP (crypto.news).
- November 3, 2025: Bitnomial said XRP margin deposits are now available to institutional clients trading perpetuals, futures and options on its CFTC-regulated exchange (Bitnomial).
What we reason Analysis
- Cross-margining sets margin on a client’s combined book rather than position by position, so offsetting positions count against each other. This rests on Ripple’s description of ‘consolidated margin across their entire portfolio’ (February 4, 2026) and ‘centralized risk management’ in the same release.
- XRP spot holdings at Ripple Prime U.S. fall inside the cross-margin arrangement Ripple describes. This rests on the November 3, 2025 release naming XRP among the spot assets and stating that spot holdings can be cross-margined.
- The margin saving on a book that includes XRP depends on the haircut applied to XRP and on how closely the positions offset. Ripple’s November 3, 2025 release gives no XRP haircut, and the general mechanism above applies; no figure is published.
- Pooling collateral with one prime broker concentrates a client’s exposure to that firm’s solvency and risk models. This rests on Ripple’s description of a single counterparty relationship (February 4 and August 27, 2026). Ripple’s $1 billion regulatory net capital figure is its own and is not an independent measure of client protection.
- At Ripple Prime, RLUSD carries more of the collateral role than XRP. This follows from Ripple’s own statements (April 8 and November 5, 2025; May 19, 2026) and reporting by Benzinga (June 24, 2026) and crypto.news (September 2, 2026).
What's still open
- As of September 30, 2026, no public source gives an XRP haircut, loan-to-value, margin offset or XRP-specific margin saving at Ripple Prime.
- As of September 30, 2026, the November 3, 2025 release refers to ‘CME futures and options’ without naming contracts, so it is not stated whether CME XRP futures are offset against XRP spot.
- As of September 30, 2026, Ripple’s Hyperliquid release sets out no position limits, collateral terms or handling of a venue outage, and no independent assessment of Hyperliquid’s risks has been published.
- As of September 30, 2026, I could not find any independent assessment of concentration risk at Ripple Prime; a KBRA rating report on it exists, but I had not yet retrieved it.
- As of September 30, 2026, how much XRP Ripple Prime clients hold or cross-margin is not disclosed in the project’s sources, and the status of the XRP collateralized lending Ripple described as an expansion on November 5, 2025 is not confirmed.
In plain English
A prime broker is a firm that lets large investors trade in many markets through one account. Cross-margining means the broker looks at all of a client’s positions together when deciding how much security the client must put up, instead of asking for security on each one separately. Ripple says its prime broker, Ripple Prime, lets U.S. institutions trade XRP and include it in this combined view. Ripple has not said how much less security an XRP holder puts up this way, and its stablecoin RLUSD plays a larger part than XRP in the firm’s collateral plans.
Key terms
Sources
- Ripple Launches Digital Asset Spot Prime Brokerage for the United States Market — Ripple, Mon Nov 03 2025 00:00:00 GMT+0000 (Coordinated Universal Time) Company-reported
- Ripple Announces Support for Hyperliquid, Expanding Institutional Access to Onchain Liquidity — Ripple, Wed Feb 04 2026 00:00:00 GMT+0000 (Coordinated Universal Time) Company-reported
- Ripple Prime Launches Delta One Business, Expanding Equity Derivatives Capabilities for Institutional Clients — Ripple, Thu Aug 27 2026 00:00:00 GMT+0000 (Coordinated Universal Time) Company-reported
- Ripple Acquires Prime Broker Hidden Road for $1.25B in One of the Largest Deals in the Digital Assets Space — Ripple, Tue Apr 08 2025 00:00:00 GMT+0000 (Coordinated Universal Time) Company-reported
- Ripple Announces $500 Million Strategic Investment Led by Fortress and Citadel Securities, Valuing the Company at $40 Billion Following Record Growth — Ripple, Wed Nov 05 2025 00:00:00 GMT+0000 (Coordinated Universal Time) Company-reported
- Ripple Prime Integrates With EDX Markets to Expand Institutional Digital Asset Liquidity Access — Ripple, Tue May 19 2026 00:00:00 GMT+0000 (Coordinated Universal Time) Company-reported
- Ripple opened a Wall Street equities desk and XRP is barely in the announcement — crypto.news, Wed Sep 02 2026 00:00:00 GMT+0000 (Coordinated Universal Time) Secondary
- Ripple Prime's Revenue Tripled Since Hidden Road Acquisition And RLUSD Is The 'Settlement And Collateral Asset' — Benzinga, Wed Jun 24 2026 00:00:00 GMT+0000 (Coordinated Universal Time) Secondary
- Bitnomial Launches First-Ever Stablecoin Margin Collateral with RLUSD, Expands Digital Asset Support to XRP — Bitnomial, Mon Nov 03 2025 00:00:00 GMT+0000 (Coordinated Universal Time) Company-reported
- Ripple Prime Prepares for 'Wall Street 2.0' — Markets Media, 07.17.2026 Secondary
- KBRA Assigns Rating to Ripple Prime CIV US BD HoldCo LLC — KBRA, 2 Apr 2026 Primary
- Ripple Gains Institutional Investment Through $40 Billion Valuation Deal — Finance Magnates, 2025-11-05 Secondary
- Ripple opened a Wall Street equities desk and XRP is barely in the announcement — crypto.news, 02 September 2026 Primary
- Ripple Prime Prepares for 'Wall Street 2.0' — Traders Magazine, July 21, 2026 Secondary
- XRP News: Ripple Prime Just Added Gold, Silver, and Oil — Could This Finally Connect XRP to Real-World Markets? — Yahoo Finance, April 7, 2026 Secondary
- Ripple Prime: XRPL's Institutional Infrastructure Strategy — Catalyze Research, Feb 13, 2026 Secondary
Update log
- — Published.
I keep this site free, with no ads, paywall or affiliate links; gifts cover hosting and research time. Support the project, or report an error.
