How much credit is being created against XRP, and can it be measured?
Also asked as: “How much credit is actually being created against XRP, and can it be measured?” · “How much credit is extended against XRP, and how would we know?” · “Is XRP collateral the same as credit actually lent?” · “Can we calculate an XRP loan-to-value ratio from the Morpho vault numbers?” · “How do you measure XRP collateral use?” · “How much money is borrowed against XRP collateral?” · “What is an XRP collateral multiplier?” · “What XRP collateral metrics should I track?” · “What data would show XRP is used as institutional collateral?”
Analysis Published 5 min read
Short answer
Not in total. The one XRP-backed market checked here, Morpho’s FXRP/RLUSD market, stood at $7.85M with $7.9M RLUSD supplied against 10.6M FXRP collateral, according to Flare on September 24, 2026. Coinbase’s assets API showed no XRP amount posted as of September 29, 2026, and no cited source reports XRP loan balances, so no system-wide figure can be stated.
The full answer
The pieces that are public cannot be added into one. The clearest single number is from one market on Ethereum: $7.19 million of RLUSD borrowed against FXRP on September 29, 2026.[3] Everything larger either counts collateral rather than loans, or is not disclosed.
Is XRP collateral the same as credit actually lent?
No. Collateral is what a borrower pledges; credit is what is actually drawn. The two figures in Sentora’s Morpho market show the gap. Flare reported on September 24, 2026 that the market “stood at $7.85M with $7.9M RLUSD supplied against 10.6M FXRP collateral.”[1] “Supplied” here is RLUSD that lenders deposited, available to borrow. Morpho’s market page on September 29 showed $7.19 million of outstanding loans in a total market size of $7.9 million, almost all of it supplied by Sentora’s RLUSD vault.[3]
A third number is sometimes quoted alongside these. CoinDesk described Sentora as managing “a $280 million lending pool of Ripple’s RLUSD stablecoin” when FXRP was approved as collateral in August.[2] That $280 million is Sentora’s whole RLUSD pool across its markets. The FXRP market inside it held $7.9 million by late September.[1][2]
Which venues publish loan balances against XRP, and which do not?
Publish, at least in part:
- Morpho’s FXRP/RLUSD market on Ethereum: supply and borrowing are shown live, with the share lent out, because the market runs on a public blockchain.[3]
- Flare, for FXRP overall: “~ 145.2M FXRP minted with 130M FXRP in DeFi at work across ~7.8M transactions” as of September 24, 2026.[1] Flare says FXRP “is lent and borrowed. It is posted as collateral. It backs a stablecoin through Enosys CDP,” but does not split the 130 million between those uses.[1]
Do not publish XRP-backed balances, as of September 29, 2026:
- Ripple Prime. Ripple says US clients can “cross-margin OTC spot transactions and holdings with the rest of their digital asset portfolio,”[5] and its product page lists “Portfolio financing and risk-based margin financing,” “$3T+ Clearing annually across markets” and “300+ Institutional customers,” with no XRP loan or collateral figure.[4] Its August 2026 notes release says proceeds are for “working capital and general corporate purposes.”[6] More on how Ripple Prime has been funded.
- Coinbase International Exchange’s public asset data gives XRP a collateral weight of 0.9, with no amount of XRP posted.[7]
- Nexo offers loans of “up to 30% of your collateral’s value” against XRP, with no loan book figure.[8]
Reported through a third party:
- A Schwab money market fund’s filing for August 31, 2026, as read by the press. crypto.news put XRP ETF collateral at “approximately $11.39 million”;[9] Bitcoin.com News put it at “$8.32 million in August.”[10] I have not read the filing itself, so the two figures are shown side by side.
Not yet running:
- Native XRP Ledger lending. XRPL.org says “All credential and loan info is transparent on the XRPL,”[13] and each Loan record carries “The principal amount still owed on the loan.”[14] If switched on, it would publish balances by design. On September 29, 2026 it had 15 of 35 trusted-validator votes, with 29 required, and was not yet enabled.[12]
What are borrow utilisation rates in the FXRP and RLUSD markets, and how have they moved?
One reading is available. Morpho’s market page on September 29, 2026 showed utilization of 91.08%, total liquidity of $705.05 thousand, a six-hour borrow rate of 6.11% and a liquidation loan-to-value of 77%.[3] Checking the arithmetic, 7.19 divided by 7.9 is about 91%, which matches the page.
For movement, Flare reports that “the market opened at a $4M cap and stood at $7.85M with $7.9M RLUSD supplied.”[1] No public time series of utilization exists beyond these two readings. The same page listed ten liquidations of one borrower’s position, on August 22, September 15 and September 23, 2026, each seizing between about 307 and 1,326 FXRP, and showed realized bad debt of 0.00 RLUSD.[3]
Can we calculate an XRP loan-to-value ratio from the Morpho vault numbers?
Roughly, with a caveat about dates. Taking Flare’s 10.6 million FXRP of collateral (September 24) at Morpho’s oracle price of 1.48 RLUSD per FXRP (September 29) gives about $15.7 million of collateral. Against $7.19 million borrowed, that is roughly 46% loan-to-value across the market (our estimate).[1][3] The figures come from a single read of the Morpho RLUSD/FXRP market on September 29, 2026 and are market-wide aggregates as displayed by Morpho; they do not show individual borrower positions, so the 77% liquidation LTV is the market’s stated threshold, not a verified distance for each borrower. The 10.6 million FXRP is about 7.3% of all FXRP minted (our calculation from Flare’s figures).[1]
What would a system-wide figure need?
Three things, none public as of September 29, 2026: XRP-backed loan balances from the brokers and exchanges that accept XRP; a split of Flare’s 130 million FXRP in DeFi into lent, borrowed-against and pooled amounts; and a way to avoid counting one XRP twice when, for example, FXRP is posted as collateral and the stablecoin borrowed is lent again. Flare’s own figures show why this matters: it reports “~21M FXRP is sitting on other chains via OFT, that is 14.4% of the 145.2M outstanding,” and separately that by July there was “more than 40M XRP earning through Xaman and D’CENT,” without saying how these overlap with the 130 million in DeFi.[1] The double-counting problem is covered on how to avoid counting the same XRP twice, and broader use measures on how actual XRP use is measured.
For scale, Galaxy Research counted “$56.16 billion” of crypto-collateralized loans across all assets at the end of June 2026, as reported by Crypto Briefing.[11] What share of that is backed by XRP is not reported.
What is the case that XRP collateral use is already larger than this page shows?
The strongest version: Ripple Prime lets clients cross-margin XRP,[5] Coinbase gives it a collateral weight,[7] and Ripple Prime reports over 300 institutional clients,[4] so undisclosed institutional use could dwarf the public DeFi figures. That may be true. It is not measured in any public source as of September 29, 2026, and the argument is set out in full on is XRP already used as collateral today.
What we know
- September 24, 2026: Flare reported $7.9 million RLUSD supplied against 10.6 million FXRP collateral in Sentora’s Morpho market; Flare said the market ‘opened at a $4M cap and stood at $7.85M’ (Flare).
- September 29, 2026: Morpho’s FXRP/RLUSD market page showed a $7.9 million market, $7.19 million borrowed, 91.08% utilization and a 77% liquidation loan-to-value (Morpho).
- August 4, 2026: Sentora’s whole RLUSD pool was $280 million (CoinDesk).
- The same Flare post counted about 145.2 million FXRP minted and 130 million in DeFi as of September 24, 2026, without splitting lending from other uses (Flare).
- Ripple Prime’s product page, checked September 29, 2026, gives clearing and customer counts but no XRP collateral or loan figure (Ripple).
- Press reports of a Schwab fund’s filing for August 31, 2026 put XRP ETF repo collateral at $8.32 million (Bitcoin.com News) or about $11.39 million (crypto.news).
- Galaxy Research counted $56.16 billion of crypto-collateralized loans across all assets at the end of Q2 2026, as reported by Crypto Briefing on August 19, 2026.
What we reason Analysis
- About 91% of RLUSD supplied in the Morpho market was borrowed. The calculation is 7.19 / 7.9, using Morpho’s page on September 29, 2026.
- Aggregate loan-to-value in that market was roughly 46%. Our estimate from mixed dates: 10.6 million FXRP (Flare, September 24) at 1.48 RLUSD each (Morpho oracle price, September 29) is about $15.7 million, against $7.19 million borrowed.
- The FXRP posted in that market was about 7.3% of all FXRP minted. Our calculation: 10.6 / 145.2, both Flare, September 24, 2026.
- A system-wide ‘collateral multiplier’ for XRP cannot be computed, because the brokers and exchanges named on this page publish neither collateral nor loans in XRP. This follows from the disclosure review on this page.
What's still open
- How much is lent against XRP at Ripple Prime, Coinbase International Exchange and Nexo? None of them had published XRP-backed loan balances as of September 29, 2026.
- How has utilization in the FXRP/RLUSD market moved over time? As of September 29, 2026, the public record has only Morpho’s live page and Flare’s September 24 figures.
- The Schwab fund’s own N-MFP3 filing: not opened (queued for fetch as of September 29, 2026).
In plain English
Nobody publishes a total for how much money has been lent against XRP. The one place where anyone can see the numbers is a single lending market on Ethereum, where about $7.2 million had been borrowed against a token that stands in for XRP by late September 2026. The large brokers and lenders that accept XRP do not say how much they have lent against it. Putting XRP up as security is also not the same as borrowing against it, so the amount of XRP pledged overstates the credit created.
Key terms
Sources
- One year of FXRP on Flare — Flare, September 24, 2026 Company-reported
- XRP holders can now borrow RLUSD on Ethereum through $280 million lending pool — CoinDesk, August 4, 2026 Secondary
- RLUSD / FXRP 77% market — Morpho, live page (read September 29, 2026) Primary
- Prime Brokerage: Ripple Prime — Ripple, undated (checked September 29, 2026) Company-reported
- Ripple Launches Digital Asset Spot Prime Brokerage for the United States Market — Ripple, November 3, 2025 Company-reported
- Ripple Prime Closes $275 Million Senior Notes Offering — Ripple, August 18, 2026 Company-reported
- Assets (International Exchange public API) — Coinbase, live data (read September 29, 2026) Company-reported
- Get your XRP Loan — Nexo, undated (checked September 29, 2026) Company-reported
- XRP ETFs enter $11.4M Schwab collateral pool — crypto.news, September 9, 2026 Secondary
- Four XRP ETFs Now Sit in a Schwab Money Fund's Repo Collateral — Bitcoin.com News, September 9, 2026 Secondary
- Galaxy reports $11B decline in crypto-collateralized lending in Q2 2026 — Crypto Briefing, August 19, 2026 Secondary
- Current XRPL amendment status — xrpldashboard, data as of September 29, 2026, 18:24 UTC Secondary
- Institutional Credit Facilities — XRPL.org, undated (checked September 29, 2026) Primary
- Loan — XRPL.org, undated (checked September 29, 2026) Primary
- Flare Reports 130M FXRP in DeFi: What Its Anniversary Figures Measure — All About XRP, September 25, 2026 Secondary
- EDGAR Filing Documents for 0001410368-26-091066 — SEC.gov, 2026-09-08 Primary
- Charles Schwab Filing Reveals $11.39 Million in XRP ETF Collateral Exposure — Hokanews, 9 September 2026 Secondary
- The State of Crypto Leverage Q2 2026: An Orderly, Measured Decline — Galaxy Research, August 17, 2026 Primary
Update log
- — Published.
I keep this site free, with no ads, paywall or affiliate links; gifts cover hosting and research time. Support the project, or report an error.
