Do banks actually use XRP?
Also asked as: “Do banks actually use Ripple Payments, and does that mean they use XRP?” · “Did American Express or JPMorgan use XRP?” · “What banks use Ripple?” · “Which Korean bank uses Ripple Payments?” · “What did American Express do with Ripple?” · “Did AmEx use XRP?”
Confirmed Published 5 min read
Short answer
Few named banks have public evidence of using XRP. Ripple said Jeonbuk Bank deployed Ripple Payments in August 2026, but the announcement does not identify XRP as the settlement asset. The May 2026 JPMorgan, Mastercard and Ondo pilot paid dollars over bank rails. SBI Remit, a Japanese remitter, launched XRP-based On-Demand Liquidity in 2021.
The full answer
Which banks use Ripple, and does that mean they use XRP?
AllAboutXRP, an XRP reference site, lists Jeonbuk Bank, Kbank, BBVA, BNY, Santander, Standard Chartered, Axis Bank, RAKBANK and WebBank in Ripple-related payment, custody, reserve or settlement initiatives [3]. Its directory, last updated on September 8, 2026, states that no complete public list proves that every bank using Ripple also uses XRP [3].
For each bank, the directory records what the primary source confirms. Kbank uses Ripple Custody wallet infrastructure, with no direct XRP use stated. BBVA’s Ripple Custody announcement identifies bitcoin and ether, not XRP. BNY is the primary reserve custodian for RLUSD, with no direct XRP use stated. The Santander One Pay FX case describes xCurrent, not direct XRP use [3].
24/7 Wall St. reported on 1 April 2026 that at least 30 of the 50-plus banks Swift named for its new consumer-payments framework have ties to Ripple, and that most of those ties are to the network infrastructure rather than to the XRP token itself [9]. The same article described RippleNet as a messaging and settlement network that banks can run entirely in fiat [9].
Which Korean bank uses Ripple Payments, and did it use XRP?
On August 18, 2026, Ripple announced a partnership that made Jeonbuk Bank, in Ripple’s words, the first regional bank in Korea to deploy Ripple Payments for cross-border remittances [1]. Ripple said the bank serves business customers including import-export companies, IT startups and online content creators [1]. The Coin Republic reported the same day that Jeonbuk joined Kyobo Life Insurance and Kbank as Ripple’s third Korean financial partner of 2026 [2].
The Coin Republic wrote that investors will watch for details on supported corridors and settlement assets [2].
What did American Express do with Ripple, and did it use XRP?
Ripple wrote on November 16, 2017 that American Express had become a member of RippleNet [4]. The post said American Express FX International Payments (FXIP) would initially partner with Santander UK to create a transaction channel between the U.S. and the U.K. [4].
The parts of this post that were reviewed describe RippleNet membership and a business-payment channel, and do not name XRP or On-Demand Liquidity. The post supports the claim that American Express used Ripple’s network, not that it used XRP. AllAboutXRP applies the same test to other 2017 RippleNet launches: for Standard Chartered, Axis Bank and RAKBANK, it records that the cited launch does not state direct XRP use [3].
Did JPMorgan use XRP in the Ondo redemption?
Ondo Finance announced on 6 May 2026 the first near real-time cross-border, cross-bank redemption of a tokenized U.S. Treasury fund, run as a pilot with Kinexys by J.P. Morgan, Mastercard and Ripple [5]. According to the release, Ripple redeemed a portion of its OUSG holdings on the XRP Ledger, and the ledger processed the asset leg in under five seconds [5]. Kinexys settled U.S. dollar proceeds to Ripple’s bank account in Singapore through its correspondent banking network [5]. The release states that one leg occurred on a public blockchain and the other settled on bank infrastructure [5].
A June 2026 Yahoo Finance article described the pilot this way: RLUSD did the bridging, the banks handled the cash leg, and XRP covered the network fee [6]. crypto.news wrote on 8 July 2026 that the instrument that carried the money was RLUSD [7]. The steps of the pilot are covered on the page about the JPMorgan, Mastercard and Ondo tokenized Treasury redemption.
Which institutions have documented XRP use?
AllAboutXRP names four relationships with public evidence of XRP-based payment flows: SBI Remit, Bitso, Tranglo and Cuallix [3]. It describes SBI Remit as having clear first-party evidence of using XRP through On-Demand Liquidity [3]. It also records that Bitso expanded its use of Ripple Payments with both RLUSD and XRP named as settlement options [3].
Coinpaper reported on 30 May 2026 that SBI Remit has used RippleNet since 2017 and, in 2021, became the first company in Japan to introduce international remittance services powered by On-Demand Liquidity (ODL), which uses XRP as a bridge asset [8]. The same report said SBI Remit’s cumulative international transfers had passed 2.5 trillion yen, roughly $15 billion [8]. How that flow works is set out in how SBI uses XRP for Japan remittances. Firms that move money with XRP without Ripple’s products are covered in whether XRP is used for payments outside Ripple.
Why is a Ripple customer not the same as an XRP user?
AllAboutXRP states that a customer can use Ripple technology without using XRP in a transaction [3]. crypto.news found on 8 July 2026 that inside Ripple’s own product stack, the asset doing the settlement work is predominantly RLUSD, Ripple’s dollar stablecoin, not XRP [7]. CaptainAltcoin summed up the distinction on 10 September 2026: “Connected to Ripple” does not mean “uses XRP” [10]. Whether a bank has to hold XRP at all is examined in do banks and businesses need to hold XRP.
What is the strongest case that bank use of XRP is wider than this?
24/7 Wall St. wrote on 1 April 2026 that only around 40% of RippleNet partners use Ripple’s On-Demand Liquidity service, which it called the product that actually requires XRP as a bridge asset between currencies [9]. The same article described a routing chain in which a payment can flow through Swift, be routed via Thunes, and settle on ODL rails using XRP as the bridge asset, without any bank being forced to use XRP directly [9].
crypto.news set out the bull argument on 8 July 2026: RLUSD adoption seeds the ledger with the institutional liquidity that XRP-based collateral and bridging would later plug into [7]. The same article called this a claim about sequencing whose first half is observable and whose second half is not yet [7]. It added that skeptics deny that infrastructure owned by the token’s issuer, absent third-party adoption, constitutes token demand, and that on the evidence to date they have been right [7]. That debate continues on the page about whether Ripple partnership announcements mean demand for XRP.
What we know
- On August 18, 2026, Ripple announced a partnership making Jeonbuk Bank, in Ripple’s words, the first regional bank in Korea to deploy Ripple Payments for cross-border remittances [1].
- AllAboutXRP, in a directory last updated September 8, 2026, recorded that neither the Jeonbuk Bank announcement (August 2026) nor the Kbank announcement (April 2026) identifies XRP as the settlement asset [3].
- AllAboutXRP, in its directory updated September 8, 2026, named four relationships with public evidence of XRP-based payment flows: SBI Remit, Bitso, Tranglo and Cuallix [3].
- On November 16, 2017, Ripple wrote that American Express had become a member of RippleNet and that American Express FX International Payments would initially partner with Santander UK on a U.S. to U.K. channel [4].
- On May 6, 2026, Ondo Finance reported that in the pilot with Kinexys by J.P. Morgan, Mastercard and Ripple, the XRP Ledger processed the asset leg in under five seconds and Kinexys settled U.S. dollar proceeds through its correspondent banking network [5].
- June 2026: a Yahoo Finance article reported that in the JPMorgan pilot RLUSD did the bridging, the banks handled the cash leg, and XRP covered the network fee [6].
- Coinpaper reported on May 30, 2026 that SBI Remit became the first company in Japan to offer ODL-powered remittance in 2021 and that its cumulative international transfers passed 2.5 trillion yen, roughly $15 billion [8].
- On April 1, 2026, 24/7 Wall St. reported that at least 30 of the 50-plus banks in Swift’s consumer-payments framework have Ripple ties, mostly to the network infrastructure rather than the XRP token [9].
What we reason Analysis
- The American Express post is evidence of RippleNet use, not XRP use. Ripple’s November 16, 2017 post, in the passages quoted by the sources, describes RippleNet membership and a U.S. to U.K. channel and does not name XRP or On-Demand Liquidity [4].
- In the JPMorgan, Mastercard and Ondo pilot, XRP’s role was the network fee, not settlement. This follows from Ondo’s release that dollar proceeds settled over Kinexys correspondent banking [5], and from the Yahoo Finance and crypto.news accounts that RLUSD carried the money and XRP covered the fee [6][7].
- SBI Remit’s $15 billion cumulative total cannot be read as XRP volume. This follows from Coinpaper’s description of the figure as transfers processed through SBI Remit’s platform, which has used RippleNet since 2017 and ODL since 2021 [8].
- Jeonbuk Bank’s deployment shows bank demand for Ripple Payments; it does not by itself show demand for XRP. Ripple’s announcement [1] and AllAboutXRP’s finding that it does not identify XRP as the settlement asset [3] support this.
What's still open
- As of September 30, 2026, Jeonbuk Bank’s corridors, settlement asset and volumes are not disclosed in Ripple’s release, The Coin Republic’s report or AllAboutXRP’s directory [1][2][3].
- August 2023 Peak ODL volume of $285M monthly, representing 15% of total SBI Remit transactions
- As of September 30, 2026, no Ripple disclosure confirms 24/7 Wall St.'s figure that around 40% of RippleNet partners use On-Demand Liquidity, or names those partners [9].
- As of September 30, 2026, only part of Ripple’s 2017 American Express post is available here, and no public source says whether any American Express FXIP payments later used XRP [4].
In plain English
Many banks use Ripple’s software, but using the software is not the same as using the XRP coin. Ripple announced in August 2026 that Jeonbuk Bank in Korea would deploy Ripple Payments, and Ripple wrote in November 2017 that American Express had joined RippleNet. The announcements reviewed here do not say either used XRP. In a 2026 test with JPMorgan, the dollars moved over bank systems and XRP only paid the network fee, according to press reports. The clearest documented user is SBI Remit, a money-transfer company in Japan that has used XRP to move payments since 2021.
Key terms
Sources
- Ripple and Jeonbuk Bank Partner to Modernize Cross-border Payments for Korea's Regional Banking Sector — Ripple, Tue Aug 18 2026 00:00:00 GMT+0000 (Coordinated Universal Time) Company-reported
- Ripple News: Jeonbuk Bank Adopts Ripple for Faster Transfers — The Coin Republic, Tue Aug 18 2026 00:00:00 GMT+0000 (Coordinated Universal Time) Secondary
- Ripple Partnerships 2026: Banks Using Ripple and XRP — AllAboutXRP, Tue Sep 08 2026 00:00:00 GMT+0000 (Coordinated Universal Time) Secondary
- American Express Joins RippleNet – Giving Visibility and Speed to Global Commercial Payments — Ripple, Thu Nov 16 2017 00:00:00 GMT+0000 (Coordinated Universal Time) Company-reported
- Ondo, Kinexys by J.P. Morgan, Mastercard, and Ripple Complete First Cross-Border, Cross-Bank Redemption of Tokenized U.S. Treasuries — Ondo Finance via PR Newswire, Wed May 06 2026 00:00:00 GMT+0000 (Coordinated Universal Time) Company-reported
- Tokenized Treasuries moving onto the XRP Ledger (article) — Yahoo Finance, Wed Jun 10 2026 00:00:00 GMT+0000 (Coordinated Universal Time) Secondary
- Ripple Prime cleared $3 trillion: how much of it actually touches XRP? — crypto.news, Wed Jul 08 2026 00:00:00 GMT+0000 (Coordinated Universal Time) Secondary
- SBI Remit Hits $15 Billion in Global Transfers With XRP Already Embedded Behind the Scenes — Coinpaper, Sat May 30 2026 00:00:00 GMT+0000 (Coordinated Universal Time) Secondary
- XRP News: SWIFT Names 30 Ripple-Connected Banks in Its New Payment Framework — 24/7 Wall St., Wed Apr 01 2026 00:00:00 GMT+0000 (Coordinated Universal Time) Secondary
- XRP rumor check: what's actually true about Ripple, CLARITY, Swift and Schwab — CaptainAltcoin, Thu Sep 10 2026 00:00:00 GMT+0000 (Coordinated Universal Time) Secondary
- XRP Holds Above $1 as Ripple Signs Korea's First Regional Bank. Will It Move XRP? — 24/7 Wall St. via Yahoo Finance, August 19, 2026 Secondary
- Ripple Payments Adopted by Jeonbuk Bank for Cross-Border Transfers — Yahoo Finance (99bitcoins.com), August 17, 2026 Secondary
- Ripple Launches On-Demand Liquidity with SBI Remit To Accelerate and Grow Cross-Border Payments from Japan — Ripple, Jul 28, 2021 Company-reported
- Ripple Expands On-Demand Liquidity to Nearly 40 Payout Markets, Adds Machine Learning Capabilities — Ripple, Nov 16, 2022 Company-reported
- American Express, Santander team up with Ripple for cross-border payments via blockchain — CNBC, November 16, 2017 Secondary
- American Express Denies XRP Partnership Amid Viral Claim — Coinfomania, October 28th, 2025 Secondary
- On-Demand Liquidity Brought to Lithuanian Provider FINCI — Ripple, May 18, 2022 Company-reported
- American Express Denies XRP Partnership Amid Viral Claim — Bitget News (coinfomania), 2025/10/28 Secondary
- xrpacademy.com — xrpacademy.com, December 19, 2025 Secondary
Update log
- — Published.
I keep this site free, with no ads, paywall or affiliate links; gifts cover hosting and research time. Support the project, or report an error.
