Do Ripple partnership announcements mean demand for XRP?
Also asked as: “Do banks actually use XRP?” · “Do all Ripple partners use XRP?”
Confirmed Published 5 min read
Short answer
No. A Ripple partnership announcement is not, on its own, evidence of demand for XRP. AllAboutXRP (reviewed September 8, 2026) found public evidence of XRP-based payment flows for only four Ripple relationships, and crypto.news (July 8, 2026) called today’s XRP demand from Ripple Prime’s more than $3 trillion of yearly clearing a sliver.
The full answer
Why does a Ripple partnership not show that XRP is being used?
Ripple sells payments, custody, stablecoin and tokenization products that can work without XRP, according to AllAboutXRP’s partnership guide, last reviewed on September 8, 2026 [1]. The same guide states that no complete public list proves every bank using Ripple also uses XRP. It names SBI Remit, Bitso, Tranglo and Cuallix as the companies public sources link to XRP-based payment flows, though Tranglo’s current asset mix per payment is not disclosed [1].
Two 2026 announcements show the gap. Ripple announced a cross-border payments partnership with Jeonbuk Bank in August 2026 and a Ripple Custody deployment with Kbank in April 2026, and AllAboutXRP notes that neither announcement identifies XRP as the settlement asset [1]. The guide also lists the 2017 RippleNet payment services of Standard Chartered, Axis Bank and RAKBANK among relationships where the cited launch does not state direct XRP use [1].
Older evidence has its own limit. AllAboutXRP states that historical evidence proves a documented use at that time, not that every current transaction still uses XRP, and that Tranglo’s current asset mix is not disclosed per payment [1]. According to the same guide, Ripple does not publish one current, exhaustive roster showing each institution, product, launch status and settlement asset [1]. The relationships are sorted one by one on the pages about whether banks actually use XRP and which institutions are involved with XRP, and in what role.
What did recent Ripple announcements name as the settlement asset?
Several recent announcements name RLUSD, Ripple’s dollar stablecoin, where a reader might expect XRP. crypto.news reported on July 8, 2026 that inside Ripple’s own product stack the asset doing the settlement work is predominantly RLUSD, not XRP, and that the tokenized-Treasury settlement Ripple executed with JPMorgan, Mastercard and Ondo cleared on the XRP Ledger with RLUSD carrying the money [2].
Ripple said on May 19, 2026 that Ripple Prime had integrated with EDX Markets, giving clients access to EDX spot and perpetual-futures liquidity, and that the partnership lays the groundwork for the future integration of RLUSD as a settlement and collateral asset on EDX [3]. AllAboutXRP describes the Ripple, Mastercard, WebBank and Gemini initiative, dated November 2025, as an exploration of RLUSD settlement on the XRP Ledger, and calls it evidence of an XRPL and RLUSD initiative, not direct XRP settlement [1].
Running on the ledger is a separate claim from using the token. The page on whether building on the XRP Ledger creates XRP demand covers that distinction.
Which kinds of activity would create demand for XRP?
crypto.news (July 8, 2026) set out three ways any business creates demand for any token: paying fees in it, posting it as collateral, or using it as the settlement asset [2]. It applied that test to Ripple Prime, which it reported clears more than $3 trillion in trades a year for over 300 institutional clients, and its answer was “a sliver”: fee burn is negligible, collateral is real but largely internal, and settlement flows to the stablecoin [2].
On fees, crypto.news reported that the XRP Ledger’s total fee burn since 2012 is roughly 14 million XRP, against a 100 billion token supply [2]. On collateral, it reported that Ripple Prime accepts XRP as collateral for margin and settlement within its own brokerage, an arrangement it said mostly runs in a circle [2].
Bitnomial, a separate derivatives exchange, said on November 3, 2025 that XRP margin deposits were available for institutional clients trading perpetuals, futures and options on its CFTC-regulated exchange [4]. Bitnomial called this a natural extension of its partnership with Ripple and stated that acceptance is subject to all applicable regulatory approvals [4].
ETF collateral is a different case again. CaptainAltcoin reported on September 10, 2026 that a Schwab filing shows XRP ETF shares used as collateral, not necessarily a direct XRP investment by Schwab [5]. A Cheeky Crypto analysis published on KuCoin News on September 22, 2026 argues that collateral acceptance adds zero direct XRP demand and that XRP buying only happens when new fund shares are created [6]. Measures of this kind are collected on the page about what to watch instead of the XRP price.
How do partnership headlines turn into XRP claims?
crypto.news recounted on July 8, 2026 that on March 2, 2026 Hidden Road Partners CIV US LLC, the entity behind Ripple Prime, appeared in the participant directory of the National Securities Clearing Corporation, and within hours the listing had been declared proof that XRP was being wired into that system [2]. The article’s assessment was that each credential is real, that none of them puts XRP inside the DTCC, and that the DTCC’s tokenization service is not built on the XRP Ledger [2].
CaptainAltcoin’s rumour check of September 10, 2026 found the same pattern with GTreasury. Ripple owns GTreasury, which is associated with roughly $13 trillion in corporate payment activity, but that does not mean $13 trillion was settled using XRP [5]. Its summary line was that “Connected to Ripple” does not mean “uses XRP” [5]. crypto.news added that the market has learned to discount announcements in which Ripple is both counterparties [2]. Individual claims are tested on the page of viral XRP rumours checked, and the record of XRPL institutional announcements becoming live products is tracked separately.
What is the strongest case that partnerships still matter for XRP?
The bull answer, as crypto.news reported it on July 8, 2026, is that RLUSD adoption seeds the ledger with the institutional liquidity that XRP-based collateral and bridging would one day plug into [2]. The same article called that argument coherent, and described it as a claim about sequencing whose first half is observable and whose second half is not yet [2].
The article also set out the opposing reading. Skeptics do not deny the infrastructure is real; they deny that infrastructure ownership by the token’s issuer, absent third-party adoption, constitutes token demand, and the article judged that on the evidence to date they have been right [2]. It named third-party collateral acceptance, a brokerage or clearing venue that Ripple does not own accepting XRP as margin collateral, as the first signal that would change that reading [2]. Bitnomial’s November 2025 announcement [4] can be weighed against that test.
The case that XRP routing already works in production is set out on whether XRP payment routing is live. The share of Ripple’s volume that touches XRP is examined on how much of Ripple’s payment volume uses XRP.
How can a partnership claim be checked?
AllAboutXRP’s method, published in its September 2026 guide, is to open the primary announcement, identify the product, count direct XRP use only when the source names XRP or an XRP-specific liquidity product, and check the stage and date, because exploration, pilot, partnership and live production describe different levels of adoption [1]. Payments that use XRP beyond Ripple’s own products are covered on XRP payments outside Ripple, and cost claims on whether XRP is cheaper for cross-border payments.
What we know
- AllAboutXRP (last reviewed September 8, 2026): no complete public list proves that every bank using Ripple also uses XRP; public sources connect SBI Remit, Bitso, Tranglo and Cuallix to XRP-based payment flows.
- AllAboutXRP (September 8, 2026): Ripple’s cross-border payments partnership with Jeonbuk Bank (August 2026) and its Ripple Custody deployment with Kbank (April 2026) do not identify XRP as the settlement asset.
- crypto.news (July 8, 2026): Ripple Prime clears more than $3 trillion in trades a year for over 300 institutional clients, and the share that becomes XRP demand today is ‘a sliver’.
- crypto.news (July 8, 2026): inside Ripple’s own product stack the settlement asset is predominantly RLUSD, and the tokenized-Treasury settlement with JPMorgan, Mastercard and Ondo on the XRP Ledger used RLUSD.
- Ripple (May 19, 2026): Ripple Prime integrated with EDX Markets; the partnership lays the groundwork for future integration of RLUSD as a settlement and collateral asset on EDX.
- Bitnomial (November 3, 2025): XRP margin deposits are available for institutional clients on its CFTC-regulated exchange; acceptance is subject to all applicable regulatory approvals.
- CaptainAltcoin (September 10, 2026): Ripple owning GTreasury does not mean $13 trillion was settled using XRP, and a Schwab filing shows XRP ETF shares used as collateral, not necessarily a direct XRP investment by Schwab.
What we reason Analysis
- A partnership announcement describes a relationship, not a flow of XRP. This follows from the three routes crypto.news named on July 8, 2026 (fees, collateral, settlement) and AllAboutXRP’s statement that Ripple products can work without XRP: an announcement adds XRP demand only when it puts XRP into one of those roles.
- Transaction counts on the XRP Ledger are weak evidence of XRP demand. This follows from crypto.news’s figure (July 8, 2026) of roughly 14 million XRP burned in fees since 2012 against a 100 billion supply: more transactions mean more fee burn, and at that scale the burn is not a measure of demand.
- Bitnomial’s XRP margin acceptance, announced November 3, 2025, resembles the third-party collateral signal crypto.news listed on July 8, 2026, because Bitnomial describes Ripple as a partner and the project’s sources do not describe Bitnomial as Ripple-owned. I could not find how much XRP is posted there as of September 30, 2026, so I cannot say how much weight it carries.
- Partners settling in RLUSD on the XRP Ledger could widen the places where XRP might later supply bridge liquidity or collateral. This follows from the bull case crypto.news reported on July 8, 2026; the same article said the second half of that sequence is not yet observable.
What's still open
- As of September 30, 2026, no public source states how much XRP any named Ripple partner buys, holds or routes.
- Tranglo’s current asset mix is not disclosed per payment (AllAboutXRP, September 8, 2026).
- As of September 30, 2026, I could not find the amount of XRP posted as margin at Bitnomial or at Ripple Prime.
- I could not find whether RLUSD had gone live as a settlement and collateral asset on EDX after Ripple’s May 19, 2026 announcement, as of September 30, 2026.
In plain English
A company announcing that it works with Ripple is not the same as that company using XRP. Ripple sells several products, and many of them work with ordinary money or with Ripple’s own dollar token instead of XRP. Only a few Ripple relationships have public evidence of XRP being used to move payments. Demand for XRP comes when someone has to pay fees in it, hold it as a deposit against trades, or use it to settle, and a July 2026 review found that very little of Ripple’s large trading business does that today.
Key terms
Sources
- Ripple Partnerships and Banks Using Ripple — AllAboutXRP, Tue Sep 08 2026 00:00:00 GMT+0000 (Coordinated Universal Time) Secondary
- Ripple Prime cleared $3 trillion: how much of it actually touches XRP? — crypto.news, Wed Jul 08 2026 00:00:00 GMT+0000 (Coordinated Universal Time) Secondary
- Ripple Prime Partners With EDX to Bridge Institutional Access to Digital Asset Liquidity — Ripple, Tue May 19 2026 00:00:00 GMT+0000 (Coordinated Universal Time) Company-reported
- Bitnomial Launches First-Ever Stablecoin Margin Collateral with RLUSD, Expands Digital Asset Support to XRP — Bitnomial, Mon Nov 03 2025 00:00:00 GMT+0000 (Coordinated Universal Time) Company-reported
- XRP Rumor Check: What's Actually True About Ripple, CLARITY, SWIFT and Schwab — CaptainAltcoin, Thu Sep 10 2026 00:00:00 GMT+0000 (Coordinated Universal Time) Secondary
- Banks Taking XRP As Collateral Won't Buy Your Coins. This Would. — Cheeky Crypto via KuCoin News, Tue Sep 22 2026 00:00:00 GMT+0000 (Coordinated Universal Time) Secondary
- Ripple and Jeonbuk Bank Partner to Modernize Cross-border Payments for Korea's Regional Banking Sector — Ripple, Aug 18, 2026 Company-reported
Update log
- — Published.
I keep this site free, with no ads, paywall or affiliate links; gifts cover hosting and research time. Support the project, or report an error.
